In 2021, the Al & Val Rosenstrauss Fellowship has been awarded to three outstanding applicants, Dr Samantha Barton, The Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health, Dr Amie Hayley, Swinburne University of Technology and Dr Natalie Matosin, University of Wollongong. These were the three applicants ranked highest by Foundation’s Scientific Advisory Committee, out of the of the 66 applications received.

Whilst the Foundation typically awards one fellowship per year, the Board of the Foundation has decided to increase the number of Fellowships in 2021 in recognition of the outstanding calibre of these three researchers. A major goal of the Foundation is to give support to Australia’s outstanding mid-career researchers in the Foundation’s chosen areas of research so they can navigate the exceptional challenges they face in continuing to contribute to our understanding and ability to treat diseases and disorders. The Board of the Foundation hopes that funding additional Fellowships in 2021 will help during what are difficult times facing the medical research sector in Australia.

Click here to find out more about our Fellows.